Theatre Agora 2022 | Virtual Launch: Special Issue

Virtual Launch: Special Issue "Performance Training and Well-Being" (Theatre, Dance, and Performance Training Issue 13.2)

Virtual Launch: Special Issue Performance Training and Well-Being

Virtual Launch Invitation

Special Issue “Performance Training and Well-
Being” (Theatre, Dance and Performance Training Issue 13.2), June 28, 2022, 4:00 - 6:00 pm Central European Summer Time (GMT+2), with keynote addresses by Eugenio Barba and Matthieu Ricard.

This webinar, hosted by the Université d’Artois in France, is sponsored by the UBC-funded “Culture, Creativity, Health and Well-Being” Research Cluster in partnership with the Canadian Association of Theatre Research.

Register Now Facebook Page

The Special Issue “Performance Training and Well-Being,” co-edited by Virginie Magnat (University of British Columbia) and Nathalie Gauthard (Université d’Artois), features thirty-eight contributors from eleven countries, who critically and reflexively investigate the cultural, social, political, ecological, and spiritual dimensions of performance training modalities that have the potential to foster, enhance, restore, and sustain the well-being of practitioners, audiences, and other/more-than-human participants and collaborators. We are especially honored to feature the work of Indigenous and non-Western artist-scholars responding to the urgent need to acknowledge, value, and engage with multiple ways of knowing so as to decenter, unsettle, and decolonize Eurocentric paradigms that still inform dominant knowledge systems.

We are deeply grateful to Rena Mirecka, Eugenio Barba, Maxine Sheets-Johnstone, Matthieu Ricard, Thomas DeFrantz, Jill Carter, Floyd Favel & Sabina Sweta Sen Podstawska, Ang Gey Pin & Tay Kai Xin Ranice, Jessica Rajko et al., Sondra Fraleigh & Karen Barbour, Jean-Marie Pradier et al., Roanna Mitchell, Bryony Onciul & Konstantinos Thomaidis et al., Christine Bellerose, Katie Lavers et al., Claire Fogal, Jo Losh & Jeremy Neideck, Marco Balbi Di Palma, and Pauliina Hulkko & Riku Laakkonen for their insightful, thought-provoking, uplifting, and energizing contributions.