Patrick O'Neill Award/ Le prix Patrick O'Neill

The Patrick O’Neill Award is given each year to the best edited collection published in either English or French on a Canadian theatre and performance topic. The award is given in alternate years to a play anthology and an essay collection. For the 2017 award, essay collections published in 2016 or 2017 will be considered.

Le prix Patrick O’Neill récompense chaque année le meilleur ouvrage collectif, publié en français ou en anglais, traitant de théâtre ou de performance au Canada. Le prix est décerné en alternance à une anthologie de pièces et à un recueil d’essais. Pour le prix 2017, les recueils d’essais publiés en 2016 et en 2017 seront considérés.

Deadline: January 15, 2019. See here for more.

2018 Winner:

Performance Studies in Canada, ed. Laura Levin and Marlis Schweitzer (McGill-Queen’s UP, 2017)

The winner of this year’s O’Neill award is Performance Studies in Canada, edited by Laura Levin and Marlis Schweitzer and published by McGill-Queens University Press.  The Committee recognized this book as a field-defining collection that offers readers a dazzling array of innovative methodologies and ground-breaking performance analyses that will long serve as a model for future scholarship in Canada and beyond. We recognize, too, that Performance Studies in Canada will serve as a key text for undergraduate and graduate students looking to familiarize themselves with this scholarly field.

Honorable Mention

Performing Indigeneity, ed. Ric Knowles and Yvette Nolan (Playwrights Canada Press, 2016)

The O’Neill award committee is delighted to recognize with an Honourable Mention Performing Indigeneity, edited by Yvette Nolan and Ric Knowles, published by Playwrights Canada Press.  As a first volume to feature only Indigenous contributors, the importance of this book cannot be overestimated. The Committee found the collection to offer a rich selection of essays that will most certainly inspire future work on Indigenous performance.

2019 O'Neill Committee: Nikki Cesare-Schotzko (Co-Chair), Kim Solga (Co-Chair), Jen Harvie, Harvey Young

Past Winners

2017 - Stephen Orlov and Samah Sabawi, eds. Double Exposure: Plays of the Jewish and Palestinian Diasporas. Toronto: Playwrights Canada Press, 2016.

2017 (Honorable Mention) - Dalbir Singh, ed. Performing Back: Post-Colonial Canadian Plays. Toronto: Playwrights Canada Press, 2016.

2016 - Jan Selman and Jane Heather. Theatre, Teens, Sex Ed: Are We There Yet. Edmonton: University of Alberta Press, 2015.

2016 (Honorable Mention) - David Dean, Yana Meerzon et Kathryn Prince (eds.), History, Memory, and Performance. Basingstoke : Palgrave MacMillan, 2015.

2015 - Natalie Alvarez, ed. Fronteras Vivientes: Eight Latino/a Canadian Plays. Toronto: Playwrights Canada, 2013.

2014 - Natalie Alvarez, ed. Latina/o: Canadian Theatre and Performance. Toronto: Playwrights Canada, 2013.

2014 - (Honorable Mention) Roberta Barker and Kim Solga, eds. New Canadian Realisms: New Essays on Canadian Theatre. Toronto: Playwrights Canada, 2012.

2014 - (Honorable Mention) Judith Rudakoff, ed. TRANS(per)FORMING Nina Arsenault: An Unreasonable Body of Work. Intellect, 2012.

2013 - Roberta Barker and Kim Solga, eds. New Canadian Realisms: Eight Plays. Toronto: Playwrights Canada, 2012.

2013 - (Honorable mention) Kamal Al-Solaylee, ed. Tonight at the Tarragon: A Critic's Anthology. Toronto: Playwrights Canada, 2011.

2013 - (Honorable mention) Dennis Johnson, ed. Grassroots: Original Plays from Ontario Community Theatres. Toronto: Playwrights Canada, 2011.

2012 - Nina Lee Aquino and Ric Knowles, eds. Asian Canadian Theatre. Toronto: Playwrights Canada, 2011.

2011 - Louise Forsyth, ed. Anthology of Quebec Women’s Plays in English Translation. Vol III (1997-2009). Toronto: Playwrights Canada, 2010.

2011 - (Honourable Mention) André Bourassa, ed. La Trilogie inachevée. Montreal: L’instant scene, 2010.

2011 - (Honourable Mention) Cynthia Zimmerman, ed. Reading Carol Bolt.. Toronto: Playwrights Canada, 2010.