Report of the CATR/ACRT Scholarly Awards Coordinator

Submitted by Jimena Ortuzar

Award Committees for 2024

Ann Saddlemyer Award: Barry Freeman (chair), Karen Fricker, and Jessica Riley

<u>Jean-Cléo Godin Award</u>: Marie-Christine Lesage, Cassandre Chatonnier, and Louise Frappier (appointed by SQET as per the MOU between CATR/ACRT and SQET)

Patrick O'Neill Award: Dennis Gupa, Joël Beddows, Kailin Wright, and Peter Kuling

Richard Plant Award: Benjamin Gillespie (chair), Matt Jones, and Signy Lynch

The committees are in the process of selecting the winners for this year's awards, which will be presented on June 20th during the CATR/ACRT Annual Conference in Montreal. A list of finalists will be available on the CATR/ACRT website shortly.

Ad Hoc Recognitions Committee

An ad hoc recognitions committee was formed last fall to address a number of questions and concerns raised by committee members last year regarding the awards. Comprised of members Benjamin Gillespie, Cassandre Chatonnier, Craig Walker, Giorelle Diokno, Jacquey Taucar, Karen Fricker, Robin Whittaker and Jimena Ortuzar (chair), the committee aims to review and clarify the nomination process, review the criteria for the awards with respect to EDI/ARAO principles, revise terms of reference where needed, address ongoing difficulties in recruiting committee members, and ensure the awards reflect the values of the association.

A motion to make a shortlist of nominations available in advance of the Annual Conference was recommended by the committee and passed by the Board. The committee also clarified the process of notifying the authors whose work has been nominated by others (prior to sending the list of nominations to the award committees) to ensure that all authors are aware of the nominations, as there may be instances where authors do not wish to have their work considered for an award.

Next steps for the Ad Hoc Recognitions committee is a review of proposed changes to the terms of reference of the Plant Award (recommended by the 2023 Plant Award Committee), a solution to address the low number of nominations for the Godin award (which seems to be a recurring problem), and a discussion on the need for more precise criteria for assessing nominated works, particularly for French language nominations—an issue raised by this year's Godin Award Committee.